top of page
Rude Mechanicals - for trombone quartet
This is the place to order hard copies of score and parts which will be posted to you.  If you wish to download this music instead, please visit the Download Shop.

Rude Mechanicals - for trombone quartet

  • Rude Mechanicals was commissioned by the Slidin’ About trombone quartet in 2016 - the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death.  In my work there are two specific references to the bard’s plays: firstly, the title refers to the group of rustic characters who put on a heartfelt performance to conclude A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and the link to the sound world of the trombone quartet seemed quite clear in my mind.  When I was close to completing the work in late October 2016 I learned of the passing of my friend and former brass teacher Michael Antrobus to whom I owe a considerable musical debt.  Consequently the coda of the piece (in complete contrast to the rest of the music) is slow and sustained and is prefaced by a famous quotation from Act IV of The Tempest: ‘We are such stuff as dreams are made on, and our little lives are rounded by a sleep’.  This final chorale is certainly influenced by Ralph Vaughan Williams’ setting of that same text: Mike loved English music.

    Duration = 6'15"

    The price includes score and set of parts. 

bottom of page